Great Lakes News

Great Lakes News

2014 Race to Mackinac Results


The 333-mile journey from the Chicago Yacht Club to the shores of Mackinac Island, Michigan, known as the Race to Mackinac or “The Mac,” is the oldest annual freshwater distance race in the world. This year marked the 106th anniversary of the race. Approximately 2,500 competitors in 318 boats participated.

Jerry and Greg Miarecki, a father-and-son team on Providence, won their third consecutive Race to Mackinac this year and walked away with the 2014 Mackinac Trophy with a corrected time of 41:35:28.

Right behind them, Cynthia, with a corrected time of 42:23:55, and Viper, 42:59:43, were among the top three finishers in the Chicago-Mackinac Trophy division. Winning the 2014 Mackinac Cup, with a corrected time of 42:11:45, was To The Moon.

Hope, 40:35:57, finished first out of 41 in the cruising division, and Windquest, owned by Dick and Doug DeVos, finished first in the Racing division with a time of 32:15:50 and was awarded the Royono Trophy.

For more information and race results, visit

Photo courtesy of Matt Gallagher

South Shore JUN17